Interview with – Richard Gafan

1. Who is Richard Gafan in regards to BAA Heathrow (Sunday) Football Club?
I’m a player with many years of experience, I currently play as a midfield player.

2. How many seasons have you been with the club?

At a guess I’ve played for BAA for around 6/7 seasons could be longer

3. How did you come about joining BAA?

I was approached by an old friend who use to play for the club and asked me to come along during preseason training.

4. How did you end up becoming manager?

I ended up as a manager to stop our team from folding, at the time our current manager walked out on us due to a few personal issues.

5. Do you have any game that sticks out in your mind as manager?
No games that really stick out for me but I do remember being top of our league for most of the season in charge and that season finishing 3rd which was an achievement due to the previous couple of seasons under the other manager.

6. What did you dislike the most about being manager?
I didn’t enjoy have to go around trying to collect money from everyone also had a few players that didn’t drive and found myself making the rounds to collect them for a game.

7. What did you like the most about being the manager?
Being a manager was good at times, winning was a buzz but the overall achievement was the loyalty of my players that turned up to play for me.

8. How did it come about of you stepping down as manager and to continue as a player with Bradley taking over?
I made the discussion to step down as manager due to a time in my life when I was going for a promotion at work and couldn’t commit fully to the team. I had help at the time in the form of Bradley Holdaway which in my absence run the team for me and was doing well with it.

9. As manager, who was your best signing?
As a manager I had many signings for my team and had many good players that joined the team I couldn’t pick out one person as the where all doing a good job when on the pitch.

10. Now after experiencing it from both sides, would you ever be a manager again?
As for being a manager again watch this space it could happen soon.

11. As a player what has been your best performance in a game?
My best performance that I can think of is maybe a quarter finals cup game over in slough when I setup two of the goals and worked my ass off for the win as we were down on goals at the time, we went on to win the game.

12. During your time at the club, what have been your personal highlights?
Can’t really answer this one sorry

13. At the moment BAA has 3 teams, so tell us. If you could take one player from either of the other teams who would it be?
As I have only really met a few of the players on the other BAA teams I can only give you two players I would have in my team and that would be Shane and Kyle.

14. Pick your all time starting eleven and up to 5 subs, state your reasons for selection.

My ideal team with players that I’ve had the pleasure to play with past and present

In goal it’s got to be Jason Ravenhill aka the shot stopper he still got it at 36.

Sub keeper would have to be James Grant aka Freddie but it would have to be the young Freddie when he used to be able to dive for the ball.

Right defence would have to be Simon Howard aka dory, he’s been solid in his position this season.

Centre defence would have to be staurt tucker and Ryan smith, these two where partners in defence once upon a time and worked as a solid team duo.

Left defence would be a old baa player John Claude aka the French machine gun, if you was ever to be tackled by John it was like you had been shot and that bullet had past right through you whilst laying on the floor feeling the pain. He was a defender that you wanted in your team.

Left mid field would have to be another old BAA member Vishal Varma was a very strong player with pace and also filled a position up front when he was needed.

The two in the centre without doubt would have to be Mark Dickson and Johnny, these two helped my team with many wins over a couple of seasons.

Right midfield would have to be myself of course with many goals from corners and always the assist man in games.

Up top would have to be my mates sunny and Mo these two have been the guys to get you goals in a game Mo with his fast pass and sunny with his match stick legs that can kick a ball with force.

15. When you left Bradley Holdaway’s team to join your current team Mo and Sunny also joined. There was some controversy regarding this, what are your comments on it?
When leaving Bradley’s team Mo and Sunny joined with myself for Jason’s this did course a bit of controversy but when I had my team I built a friendship and loyal friends that wanted to play football on a Sunday with myself and others that left for Jason’s team.

16. Looking back you left Bradley’s team, they went on to win the league that season, any regrets?
No regrets leaving Bradley’s team he needed to stand on his own two feet and build his own team which done well that season and went on by winning the league.

17. During your time at the club have you won any trophies/medals?
No silverware for me lol

18. What players have stuck out for you during your time at the club, good and bad?

The player that has stuck out for me is Stuart Tucker when I first brought him into my team he was a loud mouth plonker who was nearly booked every game but was a great player. As time has gone on he has become a solid defender for BAA and is rarely gets book and feel that I’ve had some involvement in getting him on track.

19. Has there been a team you always enjoyed playing against?
Not answered

20. How about any team you never looked forward to playing?
Not answered

21. What is the best or favourite ground you have played at?
Not answered

22. …and the worst?
Not answered

23. What is the best goal you have scored?

As I’ve score a few fancy goals from corners I think my favourite goal would have to be from a free kick from just over the half way line, which I think the wind court on its way into the goal.

24. What is the best goal you have seen in a game, for or against BAA.

Not answered

25. What is the best save you have seen in a game, for or against BAA
There’s been a few good saves that I’ve seen from Jason Ravenhill and also a penalty save to.

26. You have played under Bradley Holdaway and Jason Ravenhill, what are the main differences between the two manager’s styles?
Not answered

27. What are your hopes and goals for this season?
My hopes for this season is to at least win one of the cups that we are still in and to finish in or around the middle of the table, which isn’t too bad for a team that’s only been playing together for a season and a half.

28. What about next season? Where would you like to be with the team or club?
My hopes for next season are to help expand the BAA team with another team to challenge in one of the leagues, I’m also hoping that I’m going to get a chance to continue playing football with the friends I’ve made whist at BAA.

29. What is the best team you have played against, can you recall the game?
Not answered

30. If you could change any things about how the club is run what would you suggest?
Not answered