Interview with – Gary Beckey

This Interview is from Oct 2010 (just as he become a manager)

1 How many seasons have you played for BAA?
12 seasons in total. I joined in 97 but stopped playing for baa when I lived in Kent for two years.

2 How did you come about joining the club?
Through Gary Chandler. He was already playing for them and I was looking for a Sunday league team to play for after leaving school.

3 What has been your most memorable moment with the club?
(not answered)

4 What has been your lowest point with the club?
Losing in the cup final against mercury in I think 2001. We started of terrible, got back into in and in front then lost 3-2 with a goal in the last 5 minutes. That sticks out most because the opposition was full of my old school mates and they didn’t let me forget it for a while.


5 What has been your best performance for BAA in your opinion?

My first game was pretty good. Andy Macphail was manager and seemed unsure to play me as I was a small young lad. I had to wait 6 games to play and only came on as a sub at half time as a big lad called Mike had to go off to a wedding. I pretty much came on and ran the show, scored two from about 25 yards each and we won 4-1. Andy played me every game after that.

5b What was your favourite game for BAA?
I would have to say the first game this season as manager. We’d had a pretty bad pre season with the results, performances were not forthcoming and everything had just been a bit messy what with the money our team owed and lack of kit etc. But everything just came together on the day and we won 12-0. Everyone just seemed to work for each other and long may it continue

A young Gary front row, one from the right at the clubs old Printing House Lane ground


6 Was there any players who stood out for you during that time (good or bad) and for what reasons?

Dave Macphail. He was not the world’s best defender but you could guarantee that every week he would throw his body in front of a truck if he thought it would prevent a goal. Mike Hamilton was a very good defender, capable of reading a game and playing from the back. One (very) bad player was when I first joined. A goalkeeper called Malcolm, 25 and scrawny with the biggest specs you had ever seen. We would be conceding 15-20 a game with him in goal. And he always turned up with his girlfriend who I swear must have been about 53 and looked more like his Nan!

7 Pick your all time starting eleven and up to five subs, state your reasons for there selection.
GK: JASON RAVENHILL, Carlsberg don’t do Sunday league goalkeepers, but he is as near as it gets. Good shot stopper, always talking and inspires confidence in the team seeing him in goal.
LB: GARY CHANDLER would be the first to say not near his prime for fitness now but in his heyday was as solid as they came. Never had speed in his legs but more than made up with it with his football brain.
RB: LEE HUNT, another who when in his prime was strong as an ox. Would take a lot of work to get past him and could get up and down in supporting the attack.
CB: MIKE HAMILTON was brilliant at reading the game and anticipating the opponent’s next move. Class act but boy could he moan!
CB: CHRIS GEAL, He would probably not think of himself as a centre back but that role at the heart of the defence suits him. Good in the air, quick and strong. Another prone to a whinge but usually it’s so high pitched I can’t make it out!!
LM: LLOYD VAUGHAN is in his third season with the club and has really stepped up a level this year. Last year we saw glimpses of what he can do but this season has done it in every match so far, both attacking and defending.
RM: GRANT BALL, tricky little bugger who had a great first touch as well as pace to burn.
CM: ALEX? I think he was Ukrainian? Any way joined us for one season in 2006/07. We gelled straight away and enjoyed a good season in midfield together. Had a great engine, could pass and fired shots like a cannon.
CM: JOSH NEARY, maybe being a bit premature putting him in here but like Lloyd he has improved a lot this year. Has a natural instinct to attack constantly but when he plays from the right position and has the right cover he is a real threat. Can try to be too elaborate at times but credit for trying some of the things he does.
ST: VISH VARMA, hate to love him but his goal record over the last three seasons speaks for itself. Imagine how many more he could score if understood the offside rule!
ST: JULIAN OLARU only played a few games with him but he was deadly in front of goal.
SUBS: CHRIS MAGRO, LUKE HURLEY, DAVE MACPHAIL, JON WILSON, TOM CORNWALL.

8 During your time with the club what awards/trophies have you won and do you have one that means more then any of the others?
I have won nothing at a team level with baa bar some promotions or runners up in cup finals. I have several players of the year and about 4 top scorers. My favourite is the player of the year from 2006/07; I felt that on a personal level I had performed well throughout the season.

9 Is there any team you liked or disliked playing against?
South Ealing Saints from the late nineties to early 00’s were a bunch of dirty f*cks. Always guaranteed to have a punch up. I always enjoyed playing firm foundations that always tended to be a good win.

10 What was the best goal you have scored?
I don’t know, there have been a few! There was the goal against homenetmen, a 25 yarder that gave the keeper no chance I also enjoyed the goal against the reserves in a friendly in 2008, another long range volley that flew inside the top corner.

11 What do you think could be done to improve the club as a whole?

I think Martin does a good job for the club and on the whole most players don’t understand the amount of effort and time that goes in to keeping a football team going. If we could get to a stage where everyone pays their money on time, return kits and generally being proud to play for the mighty BAA it would be a big plus. Maybe finding a permanent base again like we had at printinghouse lane, if we were able to pull that off that would be good.


12 What are the best and worse grounds you have played at?

Hayes stadium and Hillingdon were always well looked after, the dog **** minefield stockley park will always be my idea of a nightmare. Uneven and grannies taking Fiddles out for a morning crap? No thanks.

13 Any funny incidents you have seen on a pitch that you can recall?
Years ago Ali Esmail was on the sidelines for a game. He had hold of his son’s toy plastic gun, and when the ref gave away a rubbish fk, it started getting heated. Ali came running on arguing with the ref, gun in hand. We got a ref report a while later saying a player had come on the pitch carrying a gun! The toy gun was bright orange!!

14 What is the best team you have played against?
Citroën in 2006/07 were a good team. Very capable of pulling you apart with passing and movement.

15 Who is he best player you have played with?
I played a couple of friendlies when I first joined with Darren Phillips; he was first class at the time.

16 What is the best goal you have seen in a game, for or against BAA?
To be fair, the goal Vish scored against Chestnuts three or four years ago was pretty good. He got hold of the ball near the halfway line and before you knew what had happened he had flown past four players, the keeper, scored and could have kept running all the way to the car park the way he celebrated.

17 What is the best save you have seen in a game, for or against BAA?
I am only saying this because there are too many saves of Jason’s to be able to recall a single one, so mine when I went in goal at the 5- a-side tournament in Egham 2010. Did not know what the hell I was doing, but on pure reflex l executed a flying diving save to my left to keep out a low drive destined for the bottom corner.

18 Any players who haven’t lived up to expectations during your time with the club?
I can’t think of anyone deserving enough to be spoke of like that without upsetting someone!!


19 Which players have you seen improve the most at the club?

Over the last few years a few of the lads have improved and I think it helps that we have a core group of players that have stuck together for 5 years. I think Lloyd has really developed into a good player all round, can score, pass, run and do his fair share of dirty work. Vish also for the last three years has not stopped scoring.

20 You have played in a few leagues with BAA such as the Hayes & district, Thames Valley, North Hillingdon and maybe some others, which league did you like playing in the most?
Hayes and District. Over the years I got to know certain teams and players and just enjoyed the set up.


21 What was your favourite and least favourite grounds you played at with BAA Heathrow?

I loved Hayes stadium, always tidy to play on. As already stated, I hate Stockley Park. Clearing up dog sh*t of the pitch is not the best way to start a Sunday.

22 What is the difference between the BAA Heathrow you joined and the BAA team now?

Not much. Apart from when I started we had a clubhouse. That had a massive effect on all the teams in my opinion. Meeting altogether at your own clubhouse, with games, friendlies against each other, fund-raisers and watching the match together after running your nuts of in the rain, that helped everyone feel part of something as there was a base for the whole club.

Team at the beginning of the 2010/11 season as Gary took over as manager.

23 You have taken over as manager of the 3rd team, how did that come about?
At the end at last season all the players received a text from Alan saying he was going to be stepping down and anyone interested should contact Martin. I spoke to a few players and sounded them out about the prospect of me taking care of paperwork and such and have Gary Chandler pick the team. After 3 pre season games Gary said he would rather just be a player so I took over team duties too.

24 What problems has becoming manger given you?
First one was after the first training session after taking over. We went to pay for the £50 session and found out we owed £604! God knows how it got that high but that’s what it was. So getting that paid off was a priority. Getting everyone to pay their fair share as well can be a challenge.
Picking the team at times is a balancing act because no one likes starting on the bench but at the end of the day only 11 can start. I want to play the strongest team when required but I want to try and give everyone their share of games too. If we can have a trophy at the end of the season though I’m sure no one will be complaining about anything. Oh yeah, the missus going mental all the time because football gear is everywhere!

25 What do you hope to achieve as manager?
I would like to win a few trophies! The league this year should be a realistic aim considering the start we have made. I am enjoying myself as a manager (at times!) and I think the boys are happy with me being the manager. If I can keep the bulk of these players together for the next 4-5 years with a few additions in due course, I can see us advancing up the leagues and gaining some silverware.


26 A few years ago the club had its own ground, club house but lost this at the end of 2004 and regularly plays at stockley or Little Harlington, not nearly as appealing?

No, as stated, I HATE Stockley. Therefore one of the first things I done as manager was to get Feltham College as our home ground. Clean and around the corner from most of us, and ten pound cheaper than Stockley a week. It’s also around the corner from our new sponsor who lay out food for us after game, so happy days all round! That said you cannot beat having your own clubhouse, it creates a vibe and a feel for the club.

27 How do you think the club is run as a whole and how do you think it should maybe be changed?
I think Martin does a good job considering no one else offers to do it.
Although he must be a protected species by now, I have not seen him at one of our games in how long?

28 Do you have any pre match superstitions?
Not really a superstition, but I always make sure I have sock tape and Vicks. Sad I know!

29 Do you feel your relationship with the players changed at all when you became manager?
I don’t think any relationship has changed. I just make sure that I don’t get involved in any training banter etc about formations, player picks and positions. I take a step back from that because Gary tried to listen to everyone in pre-season and we were soundly beaten in all three, with people arguing and everyone trying to have their say. I think it’s better to have one in charge and result at the moment back that up.

30 They say family comes first, do you feel if you was not manager Jamie and Chris would struggle to get in the team? 😉
What you trying to do here? No nepotism here, I think if you were to ask the squad if Chris and Jamie earn their places I think most would agree. Chris has been brilliant at cb for the last1 ½ years, while Jamie over his three seasons has definitely improved

31 This season Chris has been made captain, what was the reason behind that decision?
Probably because I would have looked like a prat making myself captain!! No seriously, in my opinion a captain should be someone who talks, shows passion and can get others motivated by their actions. Chris does those things pretty well for us. I was hoping it would calm him down a bit actually as well, but it’s made him worse!

32 The team won there first 9 games last season but then stumbled to the end to finish 3rd. Do you think you should of won the league and why do you think the team came up short?
I think we lost the title really; we had moments in the season where we could have gotten extra points that would have made a difference. Drawing 0-0 with manor when Josh had a penalty saved near the end, drawing with the pitiful parkway and losing Jason during the last Game against Hayes Alexander. Hopefully we can make up for it this year.


33 What are your expectations for this season?

This year, I want the league and to finish the season with a bang, if we keep on at this rate maybe top 100 goals for the season. We are still in two cups as well, but that may be a bit greedy…

…….perhaps it was greedy, but the team went on to win the league and score over 100 goals.